I have signed up for both NaNoWriMo and reel_torchwood . For reel_Torchwood, I'm doing The Count of Montecristo. For NaNoWriMo, an original murder mystery.
Thing is, Jack is the obvious choice. I guess you could have Tosh in prison, pre TW, but then I don't think that would be easy as it's not the whole team. Mmm. An AU like your current one would be good to use.
Ah yes I've signed up for reel torchwood in a fit of creative optimism, I'm doing Around the world in 80 days. I was considering NaNoWriMo but my current story (a J/I AU set on a submarine) is pressing on at 25000 words and I don't think I could manage another long story next month as well. We do put ourselves through it.
We do, don't we? I got kinda talked into NaNoWriMo by Beth; not that she recruited but it sounded fascinating. Then she mentioned reel_Torchwood and... oh dear.
Well, from my experience last year, there are two ways to go about it: try to write something you will be happy editing/polishing later in the year, and maybe eventually publishing somewhere (which, for me, means not hitting the 50K because I edit too much as I write), or try to hit the 50K, which may somewhat dent the quality of what you are writing.
Last year I did the latter - the challenge for me was to write long, and write a lot, instead of going back and editing the whole thing every time I sat down to write. I think this year I'll try the former, so, yeah, if I hit the 30K mark, I'll be happy.
Yep and during activity time we can form a group in the corner, away from the other crazys, with our laptops and write :) Are you using the same username for Nano? We should all buddy each other there :)
I really don't care if you're in Providence Park or La Chateau D'If, as long as you keep writing and produce good fics as always! -- In fact, what I wouldn't give for being able to keep my favourite authors in a...time bubble or something and let them do nothing but write write WRITE.
Yeah I belong to Providence Park as well.
PS: The Count of Montecristo is one of my favourite novels!